A Voice from The Starlight

20120714-125922.jpg
I met a friend on the train, a wise man indeed. If you haven’t had a chance to ride the Coast Starlight through California, you really should get on board. It’s a beautiful experience, start to finish. As long as you’re not worried about Time, or fixated on your destination, there’s magic to be found. It’s truly about the ride: the gorgeous rolling views, slow rocking of the train, and quirky cast of characters will teach you a thing or two about life, the universe, and everything.

My friend was one such character. I shared my southwesterly table in the Observation Car; he shared his whiskey and cigarettes. We talked about philosophy and sociology, agriculture and economics. That’s my favorite part about the train– sharing Big Ideas with strangers, opening my mind and heart to the fellow wretched-blessed. Opening my life to an expanded moment of unexpected revelation.

I shared my pen and notebook, and he gifted me his words.

[A Voice from the Starlight]
a poem by adam

i think, i know, i understand
i think you understand
i dream in shapes and colors and i think i understand
i see you looking at me through the mirror
and you see me looking back and now,
i’m lost again i just don’t understand
how the world within my mirror takes
the world i live in fear of
and turns it all around again i think i understand
if i sit and wait and watch it maybe i’ll learn something new
sit and wait and watch me i can teach you something new
i can teach you how to paint a picture when you
close your eyes
i can show you how the world’s exploding leaves us
all surprised
in the future i can show you what you think i’ll show you now,
think i’ll wait to show you, what’s the hurry anyhow?

He laughed as he wrote, radiating joy. When he was finished, he looked at me and said, “You must be crazy. Can I give you a hug?”

I agreed, of course. Because that, gentle people, is my kind of crazy.

****
I so love the train and its passengers that there’ll be another post about it soon. There was just too much magic not to share it. Stay tuned… ;D

Leave a Reply

